fbpx
0 $0.00

Shopping bag

  • No products in the cart.

Flag Status

Current Flag Status: Full-Staff

Who Orders Flag to Half-Staff?

The President can issue flags to fly at half-staff upon the death of an important person as a mark of respect to their memory.  Governors are authorized to order US and State flags flown at half-staff. As a mark of respect for former or current state officials who have died, or for a member of the armed forces who died in active duty.

The Flag Code has established that the flag of the United States is to be flown at half-staff on rare occasions, in the following circumstances:

  • For thirty days (or a month) after the death of a current or former president or president-elect.
  • For ten days after the death of a current or former vice president, current or retired chief justice, or current Speaker of the House of Representatives.
  • From the day of death until the interment of an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, a secretary of an executive or military department, a former vice president or a former Speaker of the House, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, or the governor of a state, territory, or possession.
  • On the day of death and the day after for a Member of Congress.

What are the standard dates for flying the flag at half-staff?

  • Peace Officer Memorial Day
  • Memorial Day until Noon
  • Patriot Day – 9/11
  • National Fallen Firefighters Memorial
  • Pearl Harbor Day – 12/7

Recent Half-Staff Notifications:

Pearl Harbor Day – Thursday, December 7, 2023 (Nationally)

Former First Lady, Rosalynn Carter – Saturday, November 25, 2023 – November 29, 2023 (Nationally)

Maine Tragedy – Thursday, October 26, 2023 – Tuesday, October 30, 2023 (Nationally)

Senator Dianne Feinstein – Friday, September 29, 2023 – Thursday, October 5, 2023 (Nationally)

Parole Officer Christine Guerin Sandoval – Friday, September 29, 2023 – TBD (Colorado Only)

Patriot Day – Monday, September 11, 2023 (Nationally)

Peace Officer Memorial Day – Monday, May 15, 2023 (Nationally)

Allen, TX Shooting – Saturday, May 6, 2023 – Thursday, May 11, 2023 (Nationally)

Fire Fighter Memorial Day – Sunday, May 7, 2023 (Nationally)

Nashville Shooting – Monday, March 27, 2023 – Friday, March 31, 2023 (Nationally)