Happy Birthday Dakota's! North Dakota & South Dakota

The Dakota Territory was split and admitted into the Union in 1889 as two states due to the distance between the two major population centers of the territory, in the north and in the south. Dakota is a Sioux word meaning “friends” or “allies.”

North Dakota State Flag
South Dakota State Flag
Posted on November 2, 2016 and filed under State Flags.